Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can Multiple I2C Sensors Be Run Simultaneously — Parallax Forums

Can Multiple I2C Sensors Be Run Simultaneously

Hi,

One of the useful features of the Propeller 1 is that you can interogate the status or results of 8 different sensors simultaneously using a different Cog for each sensor. The Time-Of-Flight Distance Measuring Sensor VL6180X ( https://www.adafruit.com/products/3316 ) has a fixed I2C address. I am new to the I2C world, but it appears that the Propeller 1 has only 1 set of pins that can be used for I2C devices. So am I correct that you could not have 8 VL6180X sensors on 8 different Cogs so that you can obtain 8 distance measurements simultaneoulsy?

I advance, thank you and happy holidays!

Comments

• Any pins can be used for i2c.

Here are a few drivers in the OBEX:

http://obex.parallax.com/search/i2c

• Indeed, you could have up to 16 I2C buses on the Propeller, depending on whether or not your code requires a dedicated cog :)
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2016-12-22 15:46
    With only one address available, one might be able to bring up several i2c objects in different Cogs by giving the objects different names, (I2C_1, I2C_2). You would also have to change some code, (example, variable name), in each I2C object, because, I believe, it will only load one instance of the object, and not separate code for each object, which might cause problems.
  • Since the VL6180X from Adafruit has a fix i2C address (0x29), you usually could only have one on a single i2C bus path. Typically each device on the i2C bus must have a separate address assigned to avoid address conflicts, however it appears there is a way to have multiple VL6180X devices on a single i2C address but I am not sure if this applies to the Propeller as well.

st.com/content/ccc/resource/technical/document/application_note/b4/f0/79/ec/ca/54/45/07/DM00114403.pdf/files/DM00114403.pdf/jcr:content/translations/en.DM00114403.pdf