Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Analog-to-Digital Converter problem on Propstick Board — Parallax Forums

Analog-to-Digital Converter problem on Propstick Board

Hello.
Im totally new in using propeller board. Currently still learning how to read an analog input in this board and display in serial terminal.

Previously, i already try the the simple analog to digital test instruction i've got here, using potentiometer, but when I turn the knob both way it always displaying "-1" value, instead of displaying actual voltage of potentio output.

Anybody can help me fix this problem? Could I use the PropBOE ADC object on my propstick?

Im using SPIN with PropStick board by the way.

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2016-11-23 15:21
    Welcome to the forums!

The PropStick USB does not have an Analog to Digital converter on board. There is a converter on the Board of Education that is used with the example code that you linked to.

You would have to add an A/D converter to the PropStick in order to use that code.

• dgatelydgately Posts: 1,621
    edited 2016-11-23 15:26
    The PropStick does not itself have an Analog-to-Digital interface as does the PropBOE or Activity Board. To use the PropBOE ADC object, you will need to use the same chip (AD7993 or a compatible chip) to the ADC chip on the PropBOE. It is a 10-bit I2C analog to digital convertor, though I'm not sure which one (it's not specified in the PropBOE docs).

Analog Devices AD7993 data sheet: mouser.com/ds/2/609/AD7993_7994-877598.pdf

dgately
  • As a side note:

The A-D converter on the BOE
    http://www.analog.com/en/products/analog-to-digital-converters/ad-converters/ad7993.html#product-overview