Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Why Are Too Few Females in Robotics? Could It Be the Robots? - Page 3 — Parallax Forums

Why Are Too Few Females in Robotics? Could It Be the Robots?

Comments

• WhitWhit Posts: 4,191
    edited 2015-09-02 20:19
    Hey Keith - Since I am the one that started the thread - I will respond.

No ax to grind really. I read a few interesting books recently that told the history of Grace Hopper and Ada Lovelace. I also led the robotics club at my kids middle school and have taught lots of intro classes to robotics classes - High School and adults. We have a great engineering school near hear and I know they actively work to get young folks to come to school there.

When I started to see stories about the topic of lack of women in these fields - especially Computer Science and Robotics - I thought it was strange and interesting - especially in the light of the history.

Before I was a priest, I was an Architect - we probably had 20 -30% women. At the Episcopal Seminary I attended - we have ordained women since the 70s (late compared to say the Methodists) - the women slightly outnumbered the men.

Just seems strange to me that in such a growing and important field, we clearly lack participation by many women. Maybe it is beginning to swing back.

I just think it is interesting. This is a Robotics forum (and combines these discipline that I love) and I was sharing posts about this topic here in one thread so they could be seen in case anybody else is interested too.

I have been surprised a bit that posting these stories seems to draw more intense responses. It is no Window stinks or Linux stink or Apple stinks - but it is a provocative topic apparently.
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    Keith, I agree with what you are saying. Who are we to push them into any particular career or area of interest? Our task should be to show them as many areas as we can.