Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Where to start with GPS and accelerometer. — Parallax Forums

Where to start with GPS and accelerometer.

cbmeekscbmeeks Posts: 634
edited 2015-04-30 15:38 in Accessories
I have a side project that just came up. I'm an amateur at best so please forgive any dumb questions.

While I've been using the propeller for some audio/video stuff, that has all been purely for my gaming fun. But I have another project (or potential project) that could turn into something more.

Anyway, I want to start slow but the general idea would be a drone that would relay its GPS coordinates and accelerometer coordinates. The drone would eventually do other things but for now, I just want to communicate with it. Imagine a little drone flying around a room and recording items on a shelf.

So I figured the best thing to do is simply get a GPS and/or accelerometer module, put it on a breadboard and walk it around for now. I can worry about the actual "flying machine" later on.

But, doing a quick search on Parallax and SparkFun indicate there are several GPS/accelerometer modules and they look pretty pricey. $50+ for something that is just a proof on concept (on my own dime) is pretty hefty. :-)

However, I'd be willing to go by the suggestions here and if a $$ kit is what I need then so be it.

OK, so, being a total GPS/accelerometer newbie, here is what I would like help finding if possible:

GPS and accelerometer "chip/module/breakout board"

Resolution good enough to know it's on the "left" side of a large room or the "middle" of a large room, etc.

Accelerometer resolution to know that it's at the bottom of a tall shelf or the top.

None of this is probably making sense. But, like I said, imagine a small drone who has a job of going from shelf to shelf and scanning objects.

Of course, propeller drivers for the hardware would be great too but I am also familiar with Atmel products.

Thanks

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366