Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Thoughts on propeller from arduino side - Page 5 — Parallax Forums

Thoughts on propeller from arduino side

1235»

Comments

• mindrobotsmindrobots Posts: 6,506
    edited 2014-04-30 12:45
    Mike Green wrote: »
    When I was an undergraduate at Case Institute of Technology, the university computer center had a Univac 1107. They also had an operational Univac I which one of the railroads leased for keeping track of their freight cars. They had their own Univac I which was running all the time and not up to handling their freight volume, so they went to multiprocessing (two Univac Is) for the throughput and redundancy. Talk about legacy maintenance. The Univac I was actually up more than the 1107.

I'm not sure how we got from Arduino and Propellers to UNIVAC 1100's but I'll always talk about those.

The multiprocessing Univac I must have worked so well that they decided multiprocessing was the future. The 1108 followed the 1107 and soon, it had a multiprocessor version. From there on out, you could always get a multiprocessor 1100 in some configuration or another. They were true symmetrical multiprocessors and really fun beasties to work on. The most fun I've ever had and still got paid for it!!

Which brings me back to the Propeller - the multiprocessor capabilities are one of the things that keeps me playing with the Prop and anticipating the new chip. I used to have a customer with a $1M mainframe to have this kind of fun!!
  • GordonMcCombGordonMcComb Posts: 3,366
    edited 2014-05-01 09:04
    JonnyMac wrote: »
    ..immediately remembering that word means something else down under (double-entendre not intended)...

UK, too.

Jon, you were supposed to say "your smile," even if you were thinking something else!
  • JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,918
    edited 2014-05-01 14:01
    Jon, you were supposed to say "your smile," even if you were thinking something else!

I was young and stupid. I'm no longer young.