Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Serial Barcode Scanner — Parallax Forums

Serial Barcode Scanner

Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
edited 2014-02-12 19:54 in General Discussion
I've been using barcode scanners in my chemistry lab for several years.

They have been immensely useful.

I've mainly used the scanner SparkFun sells but I have since found a less expensive scanner on eBay that will work as a serial device (single data pin).

I've posted details of how to make a cable to use the scanner in serial mode in the product page's comments and in SparkFun's forum.

Since my post in SparkFun's forum isn't likely to be seen by the majority of you, I thought I'd post a link here in case it could help a fellow forum member.

I've used the scanners with a Propeller, but they should also work with a Basic Stamp.

Edit: The eBay scanner I have is no longer listed. This one looks like it should work the same way.

Comments

• skylightskylight Posts: 1,915
    edited 2012-08-15 12:31
    The reason I wanted a laser rather than Led array type was for distance scanning , I also think they are more reliable at scanning less hit and miss compared to the Led types though the link to your cable is very useful thanks.
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-08-15 12:48
    The ebay page does say it uses a "LED array" but both scanners I linked to use a laser. The laser light bounces off a vibrating mirror to produce the scan line.

IMO, the ebay scanner works better (recognizes the barcode faster) than the one SparkFun sells.
  • skylightskylight Posts: 1,915
    edited 2012-08-15 12:50
    i must have got a different page as it said Led array in the description further down?

apologies Duane I seem to have replied to the older thread and confused things, now we have two threads about the same thing.
    edited 2012-08-15 13:42
    skylight wrote: »
    i must have got a different page as it said Led array in the description further down?