Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
A little frustrated with the PropScope . . . — Parallax Forums

A little frustrated with the PropScope . . .

FireNWaterFireNWater Posts: 93
edited 2012-06-06 10:14 in Accessories
OK, I've been working thru the book for a couple days and have hit some issues. Hopefully they are something I've missed in the book, but I've re-read it a couple times and can't find mention. I'm pretty much self-taught as far as electronics goes, so my only resource is the BOE-bot and Propscope books. I bought a BOE to use with the P-scope.

1) When taking measurements, sometimes the Propscope will continue to run for a couple minutes while other times it just freezes after a couple seconds. I am currently on the "trim pot as voltage divider" exercise. The first time I ran it I could get the voltage to go up and down just fine, but now as soon as I hit "Run", the line moves either up or down a couple volts then the display freezes.

2) After spending an hour paging thru this forum I gather that when the time division is set to a low value the scope will only run for a few seconds - until its internal buffer fills up, then it transfers its contents to the computer thru the USB cable. Is the only way to take another measurement to cycle the "Run" button?

2.5) If I'm not in streaming mode, do I have to wait for the "connecting to COM 12" dialog boxes each and every time I want to take a new measurement? I know its only a few seconds, but after about 100 measurements it adds up.

3) Every time I try to select a longer time cycle, the software resets to 50us when I restart the scope. If I change the time cycle while it is running, will it change the Propscope's current run, or is it set to whatever was there when it started?