Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Bit bang 5 baud with BS2 (on OBD2 ISO 9141) — Parallax Forums

Bit bang 5 baud with BS2 (on OBD2 ISO 9141)

n00bn00b Posts: 5
edited 2012-03-18 20:34 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all,

This is my first time posting on the forum. I've used the BS2 since 2005 but have not really done a lot with serial communication using SERIN and SEROUT (other than simple LCD displays).

Now I've got a new fun project which is to interface with the OBD2 connector in my Honda Civic. The difficulty right now lies in initializing the ECU, which requires transmitting HEX 33 at 5 baud.

According to the Stamp manual, the baudmode for the SEROUT command for 5 baud (assume 8 bit no parity inverted) would be 199980 which exceeds 65535, so that won't work. So, I thought I would manually create and time bits via the HIGH and LOW commands (which I later found out is called bit-banging), but I'm not confident that the timing is right and I don't have a scope to verify the signal. PULSOUT will not work either, as the bit length is 200ms (max is 131.07ms on the BS2)

I am using a MAX222 line driver to get the outputs up to RS-232 voltage, so the bit bang is sent through this chip, which probably makes things more tricky. So far I have not been able to get a response from the car's ECU... Though there could be other things wrong, does anyone have experience bit-banging at a super low speed like 5 baud? I'd be interested in knowing if there is a better method to pull this off. Thanks everyone!!!

I'm also surprised I was able to get the username "n00b" on the forums... who would have guessed?

-Bobby

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-03-16 19:10
    Have a look at this website for information on BS2 statement timings. Use the "app-notes" link at the bottom of the page. You should be able to bit-bang at 5 Baud. Post your program and a schematic of your connections. That'll help us help you.
  • n00bn00b Posts: 5
    edited 2012-03-16 21:00