Battlez0wned: 3D tank combat on networked HYDRAs (sneak peek)

mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
I hope to have this running at NWCGE in Portland (Oregon) this weekend, so if you're in the neighborhood, drop by. Otherwise you'll have to settle for this blurry video and pic:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=e708sfBKfoU

Sorry about the low picture quality. I hope you can make out what's going on.



Michael


EDIT: Changed video link to YouTube.

Post Edited (mpark) : 4/4/2010 5:19:15 PM GMT
320 x 240 - 16K

Comments

  • 27 Comments sorted by Date Added Votes
  • Ym2413aYm2413a Posts: 559
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    oh my god... THAT IS SO AWESOME!!!!!!! [noparse]:)[/noparse] [noparse]:)[/noparse] [noparse]:)[/noparse] [noparse]:)[/noparse] [noparse]:)[/noparse]
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 2,965
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Yeah, what he said lol
  • CardboardGuruCardboardGuru Posts: 443
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Looks fantastic! Have you networked 2 Hydras, or are you somehow running both TVs off the same one?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Help to build the Propeller wiki - propeller.wikispaces.com
    Prop Room Robotics - my web store for Roomba spare parts in the UK
  • JT CookJT Cook Posts: 472
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Ditto, that is pretty cool.

    Vecter deathmatch.
    93 x 128 - 4K
  • BamseBamse Posts: 561
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Very impressive...

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Living on the planet Earth might be expensive but it includes a free trip around the sun every year...

    Experience level:
    [noparse][[/noparse] ] Let's connect the motor to pin 1, it's a 6V motor so it should be fine.
    [noparse][[/noparse] ] OK, I got my resistors hooked up with the LEDs.
    [noparse][[/noparse]X] I got the Motor hooked up with the H-bridge and the 555 is supplying the PWM.
    [noparse][[/noparse] ] Now, if I can only program the BOE-BOT to interface with he Flux Capacitor.
    [noparse][[/noparse] ] I dream in SX28 assembler...

    /Bamse
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Thanks, guys! I just wish I had enough memory left for sound.

    CardboardGuru, it's two HYDRAs connected with HYDRA-NET (phone cord).
  • JT CookJT Cook Posts: 472
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Are you using 4 color bitmap or 2 color bitmap?
  • potatoheadpotatohead Posts: 8,732
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Excellent!!

    Well now I'm just gonna have to show up at the show.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Propeller Wiki: Share the coolness!
    Do not taunt Happy Fun Ball! @opengeekorg ---> Be Excellent To One Another SKYPE = acuity_doug
    Parallax colors simplified: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?123709-Commented-Graphics_Demo.spin<br>
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    JT -- it's 4-color. I don't think I want to give up my 3 shades of glowing green for sound, if that's where you're headed. I'd rather explore writing a teeny-tiny sound driver.

    Potatohead -- Please do!





    m
  • ColeyColey Posts: 946
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Wow!

    Well done mpark, I can't wait to see the finished article if this is WIP....

    Coley
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 2,965
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Is there going to be a one player version?
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    I'm not particularly interested in single-player, mostly because I have no idea how to do the enemy AI. However, if someone would like to give it a shot we could maybe collaborate.
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 2,965
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    sure [noparse]:)[/noparse]
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Cool! But I must warn you there's hardly any room left for AI.

    What I'll do is clean things up a bit (and hopefully save some memory) and just post the source for two-player. I believe the value of this program is less as a game and more as a demonstration of the power of the Propeller. I wrote the whole thing in Spin; the only assembly language is in the drivers (standard Parallax TV and graphics drivers).

    The point being: This is something you can do with brain-dead algorithms in unoptimized Spin. Now imagine what you could do with some real coding--and do it!

    Heading off to Portland now. Hope I can get online at some point.
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 2,965
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Ok, sounds like a plan, [noparse]:)[/noparse]
    yes, the propeller is an amazing chip, we can't thank Chip enough for this great gift to us all [noparse]:)[/noparse]
    Hope you have fun at Portland.

    Baggers.
  • JT CookJT Cook Posts: 472
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    I live in central Iowa, so Portland OR is a little out of my way.
    But I would imagine there would be enough memory for a single player version if someone made a seperate app and pulled all the networking code.
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 2,965
    edited September 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Pulling the network code was going to be my first port of call if the memory ran out doing AI.
  • AndreLAndreL Posts: 997
    edited October 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    This is totally sweet, glad someone used my network port. Using a phone cable and reflection cancellation and hours of Oscope work to get it to work doesn't help if no one uses it [noparse]:)[/noparse] So I am glad this first game is such an amazing demo.

    Andre'
  • Ym2413aYm2413a Posts: 559
    edited October 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    How many cogs does it take so far when running? [noparse]:)[/noparse]
    I got an idea!
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
    edited October 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    I believe it's using all eight, but two could be freed up easily. What's your idea?
  • Ym2413aYm2413a Posts: 559
    edited October 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    I was thinking of adding multi-channel sound support for ya' in less then 1k of HUB-ram. [noparse];)[/noparse]
    Only I'll need one COG to do so.

    --Andrew Arsenault.
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
    edited October 2007 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Kewl! Keep an eye on the Project: BZ thread. I just might try to clean up the code, hopefully free up some cogs and some memory.
  • CassLanCassLan Posts: 586
    edited April 2009 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Wow! That is really something!!

    Any recent updates?

    Rick
  • ColeyColey Posts: 946
    edited April 2009 Vote Up0Vote Down
    The source is here....
    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=680362 cool.gif

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    PropGFX - The home of the Hybrid Development System and PropGFX Lite
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,452
    edited June 2009 Vote Up0Vote Down
    Nice game!!!!! what Graphics engine did you use for it?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Toys are microcontroled.
    Robots are microcontroled.
    I am microcontrolled.
    Projects, tutorials, and more! http://microcontrolled.com/
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,146
    edited June 2009 Vote Up0Vote Down
    I guess it depends on what you mean by "engine".

    I wrote the 3D-to-2D transformation code myself, but I used the standard Parallax TV and Graphics drivers to actually draw the lines and display everything on the screen.

    Check out the source: http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=33&m=221357
Sign In or Register to comment.