Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What's the difference!?!?! — Parallax Forums

What's the difference!?!?!

DeveloperZeroDeveloperZero Posts: 15
edited 2006-06-12 06:04 in Propeller 1
Can anyone tell me what the difference is between the "Propeller Demo board kit" ($129.99 Available Now-Backordered) and the "Propeller Starter Kit" ($149.99 Coming July 1st)?

I understand what the Demo board kit and the PropStick kit are, but what is the Starter Kit. I have looked through every single post on here, and haven't found any mention anywhere, and there is no documentation on it. I ask because I was planning on buying a PropStick·one of the two boards,·and was wondering if I should go ahead and get the Demo board kit now, or wait till next month for the Starter Kit, since I will only be able to afford one of the two (I'm currently a College Student in Electronics, and have a fairly limited budget). Can someone please tell me the difference?

Also, does anyone know if there are plans on making the PropStick available preassembled and/or available w/o the chip?

Post Edited (DeveloperZero) : 6/11/2006 10:28:37 AM GMT

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,386
    edited 2006-06-11 13:59
    DeveloperZero:

Propeller Starter Kit ($149)
    Propeller Demo Board
    Propeller Printed Manual
    USB Cable
    Perhaps a few other goodies

There will be an all-SMT Propeller DIP module with USB connection at some point in the future. It's under design but will take some time to reach production.

The Propeller Manual will also be available for download, as it is today.

The timing on the Propeller Starter Kit is not certain. If you want to get started, order the Demo Board or PropStick.

Hope this answered your questions -

Ken Gracey
    Parallax, Inc.
  • DWinchellDWinchell Posts: 60
    edited 2006-06-11 14:25