Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Boe-Bot - open loop program stops? — Parallax Forums

Boe-Bot - open loop program stops?

mclairemclaire Posts: 13
edited 2005-04-05 15:40 in Robotics
Rank beginner here, just built the Bot. In testing the servos, I enter the first few lines of code to spin the servos, and they stop after a couple rotations. The servos provided in the kit indictated that they were the "modified" servos, so why would they stop?

Mike

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-03-24 02:16
    Mike,

··· Please post the exact code you're using so we can see what it's doing.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage

Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • mclairemclaire Posts: 13
    edited 2005-03-24 02:28
    Sure, simple as it gets:

' {$STAMP BS2}

LOW 12
    LOW 13

loop:

PULSOUT 12, 500
    PAUSE 20

GOTO loop

This code turns the servo 180 degrees. So it seems like maybe it's not "modified" after all? This kit was purchased in 2001, never used until now. But the markings on the servo definately indicated it had been modified.

Thanks
    Mike
    edited 2005-03-24 02:34
    ·· What happens if you change the 500 to a 750?· Oh, and as a side-note, since LOOP is a keyword in PBASIC 2.5, you should probably use a different label.· Oh, and before I forget, you can tell if the servo has been modified by gently turning it by hand, and see if it feels like it hits a stopper at the same point in both directions.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage

Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
    edited 2005-03-24 02:51
    If I change 500 to 750 it stays still, just like I think it's supposed to. You can here a slight noise as it receives the pulses, but no discernable movement. I changed the label name to "spin". No difference.

I can turn the servos all the way around, no mechanical stops.
    edited 2005-03-24 02:54