Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Boe-bot wall detection problems (IR) — Parallax Forums

Boe-bot wall detection problems (IR)

filurfilur Posts: 5
edited 2005-04-01 00:26 in Robotics
Hello!
My name is Johan and I'm new at this forum. I have worked with my boebot for many weeks now, but I have run in to a problem that i cannot solve. I'm using a sony remote to control the robots movements. But here comes the tricky part: I cant make it detect walls with the IR sensors when its driving. Is this possible? Im not very good at this and I was wondering if you could help me out here. I have attached the code. If you could modify it so it works the way i said i would be more than happy. Sorry for my english.

// Johan

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-03-12 15:47
    From looking at your code, your robot doesn't check anything to make it detect a wall. What hardware do you have for this purpose? I assume you are using the IR

FREQOUT IR_Pin, 38500
    PULSIN IR_Decoder, CheckVal

Syntax -- but I don't see it anywhere in your code.
  • Steve JoblinSteve Joblin Posts: 784
    edited 2005-03-12 18:40
    If your robot works with a Sony Remote Control, it is because the IR Receiver (and code) are working.· If your robot does not detect walls, it could be one of three things... 1.· The IR Led's are not working; 2. the IR Receiver is not working; or 3. the code is not working.

You know that the IR Receiver is working (from using it with a Remote Control), therefore, it is either because the IR Led's are not working (or installed incorrectly (backwards), or you code is not correct.· Check both of these.
  • Aristides AlvarezAristides Alvarez Posts: 486
    edited 2005-03-12 23:14
    Hello Johan,
    ·
    I'm assuming that you already completed the experiments on the "Robotics with the Boe-Bot, Student Guide" (http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28154).
    ·