Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
12v power supply - mini car computer — Parallax Forums

12v power supply - mini car computer

DShannonDShannon Posts: 26
edited 2005-02-15 01:19 in General Discussion
Hi All,
I have used the BOE and BSII to build a mini car computer (temperature, compass, etc). Now I want to actually put this in the car!

2 questions:

1) Can I directly hook up a "hot" wire (for example splicing the radio power supply) and ground to the BOE 9 volt battery clips? Will the BOE and STAMP regulate this to 5V?

2) When power supply is removed, and then applied (eg, stopping and then restarting the car), will the STAMP reset and then execute the stored basic program?

I am a bit new to this, so any guidance would be most appreciated.

THANKS!!!
-Dan
confused.gif

Comments

• The Dead BugThe Dead Bug Posts: 73
    edited 2005-02-13 21:55
    Yes and yes.
    The Stamp is rated from 6 to 24 volts if you connect through the battery connector.

It will run your program from the beginning at powerup.

Bruce

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Name: Bruce Clemens

Work:· Clemensb@otc.edu
    Good Stuff on my Bolg: http://theDeadBug.journalspace.com
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-02-13 21:55
    Dan,

·· Car electrical systems are usually pretty noisy environments...I would recommend finding a decent regulated or switching supply circuit on the internet somewhere designed for automotive use (Use Google).· Splicing to·the "radio power" would reset the stamp during startup of the car.· The only way to prevent this would be to connect either directly to the battery, or to a post in the fuse block that comes from the battery.