Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Flash Vs EEPROM — Parallax Forums

Flash Vs EEPROM

Jim McCorisonJim McCorison Posts: 359
edited 2005-01-12 05:17 in General Discussion
I am working on a data logging project which potentially needs to accumulate and store the data for an extended period of time. As such I'm looking for non-volatile storage media in the roughly 512k BYTES range. I'm new to this sort of stuff (I'm a software kind of guy.) so maybe I've overlooked something that others would take for granted. But it appears that my choices are EEPROM or Flash. What are the trade-offs between the two. Write cycles shouldn't be a problem as I'm looking to store a years worth of data. The target chip for prototyping is a BS2 and probably an SX for the end results.

Thanks for any insights that you can provide.

Jim

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-01-10 23:44
    They are the same thing, with 1 difference: eeproms permit erasure of a single byte, flash requires the erasure of an entire page and some flash require writing an entire page (sub page writes are held in a buffer and if power loss occurs before you flush the page you lose that data). The size of a page varies by part but a general rule of thumb: the larger the memory the larger the page. I am stabbing a guess but I would expect a page size of arround 512 or 1K bytes (Im too lazy to go look it up).

There is another option: non-volatile sram, but at the denisity your looking at it is cost prohibitive (the one 512x8 currently stocked by digikey is just over $100) but if data retention of a decade, fast (comparatively) operation, or many overwrites (>10K) is very important, the steep price may look more attractive. (mouser has 128K's for $15)