Eeprom error

my Stamp has a problem. it works 100% on my tower computer but on my
laptop computer when i try to run the program a sign comes up and
says "ERROR: EEPROM verify failed". do you think i need a new EEPROM
chip? i already know that it is not the batt or the cable or the
software. send back ideas.
Tagged:

Comments

  • 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    What kind of Stamp?


    morpheus358@a... wrote:
    >
    > my Stamp has a problem. it works 100% on my tower computer but on my
    > laptop computer when i try to run the program a sign comes up and
    > says "ERROR: EEPROM verify failed". do you think i need a new EEPROM
    > chip? i already know that it is not the batt or the cable or the
    > software. send back ideas.

    --
    Dennis Clark http://www.verinet.com/~dlc
    dlc@v...
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    it is a BASIC Stamp stater kit version 1.0
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    Your problem has nothing to do with your stamp. Many
    laptops won't work with the Stamp I's parallel port
    programming setup. Mine won't either.

    morpheus358@a... wrote:
    >
    > it is a BASIC Stamp stater kit version 1.0

    --
    Dennis Clark http://www.verinet.com/~dlc
    dlc@v...
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    I've also encountered problems with Desktop / Mini-tower systems. The only
    commonality was they desktops had multi-media capabilities.

    -r

    Original Message
    From: Dennis Clark [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:dlc@v...]
    Sent: Monday, May 01, 2000 8:59 PM
    To: basicstamps@egroups.com
    Subject: Re: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] RE: RE: EEPROM ERROR


    Your problem has nothing to do with your stamp. Many
    laptops won't work with the Stamp I's parallel port
    programming setup. Mine won't either.

    morpheus358@a... wrote:
    >
    > it is a BASIC Stamp stater kit version 1.0

    --
    Dennis Clark http://www.verinet.com/~dlc
    dlc@v...
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    if it doesn't work on laptops then why does it say "EEPROM error" and
    not "handware not found"
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    I'm not sure if you are talking about the stamp program for the basic
    stamp II, but I have found that both the dos and windows versions work
    fine on my Inspiron laptop (laptop sux but software works good<G>).
    I did have a problem where I kept getting a message about the basic stamp
    not responding, that parallax tech support diagnosed as a damaged stamp.
    After getting a new stamp, getting the same message, I started trying
    other things. Turns out that the perfectly-good-looking, nearly brand
    new, serial cable was defective. Stole an old cable off of a decrepit
    modem in my junk box, got a 9-to25 adapter, and veeola, both stamps
    worked fine.
    but as for the laptop, works ok!

    morpheus358@a... wrote:

    > if it doesn't work on laptops then why does it say "EEPROM error" and
    > not "handware not found"

    --
    ARC in Lago Vista, TX

    God gives every bird it's food, But He does not throw it into it's nest.
    - http://qliner.com
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    You're asking the wrong people that question. I only calls 'em as I sees
    'em.


    > if it doesn't work on laptops then why does it say "EEPROM error" and
    > not "handware not found"
    >
    >
    >
    >
  • edited May 2000 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    Hi,
    I have a problem that might be ralated to yours.
    I have posted it, and it is Number 1422 "Problem with download"
    It might give you a lead, or check any replies to that posting as
    they might help you.

    Good luck to you,
    Hans
    --- In basicstamps@egroups.com, morpheus358@a... wrote:
    > my Stamp has a problem. it works 100% on my tower computer but on
    my
    > laptop computer when i try to run the program a sign comes up and
    > says "ERROR: EEPROM verify failed". do you think i need a new
    EEPROM
    > chip? i already know that it is not the batt or the cable or the
    > software. send back ideas.
  • edited April 2003 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    Hi, everybody. I´m new in this group and forgive me for something that can go
    wrong from me.

    I bought my Basic Stamp some years ago and now I´m trying to make it work again.
    However, when I try to run
    a program, wrote on my PC, I receive the message: "ERROR EEPROM verify failed".
    At the very begin I thought it could be an eeprom error (obvious!) but there´s
    an old program (perhaps 2 years old) running in the Stamp, because I can see the
    LEDs blinking on the protoboard.
    When I disconnect the cable that link my PC to the basic stamp, I got the
    message: HARDWARE NOT PRESENT (or something alike).
    Could somebody help me, please? Thank you very much in advance.

    zenito


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
  • edited April 2003 Posts: 46,084Vote Up0Vote Down
    Hi, everybody. I´m new in this group and forgive me for something that can go
    wrong from me.

    I bought my Basic Stamp some years ago and now I´m trying to make it work again.
    However, when I try to run
    a program, wrote on my PC, I receive the message: "ERROR EEPROM verify failed".
    At the very begin I thought it could be an eeprom error (obvious!) but there´s
    an old program (perhaps 2 years old) running in the Stamp, because I can see the
    LEDs blinking on the protoboard.
    When I disconnect the cable that link my PC to the basic stamp, I got the
    message: HARDWARE NOT PRESENT (or something alike).
    Could somebody help me, please? Thank you very much in advance.

    zenito


    [noparse][[/noparse]Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
Sign In or Register to comment.