Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New to the Stamp and want more. — Parallax Forums

New to the Stamp and want more.

Velvet LeopardVelvet Leopard Posts: 47
edited 2004-08-12 21:24 in BASIC Stamp
Hewwo.· I have just recently purchased the "What's a Microcontroller" Book and Kit from my local Radio Shack.· It came with the Basic Stamp II Homework Board.· I have never used Microcontrollers before, but I flew through the book and comprehended all of it.· I even took extra steps to expand the projects and come up with a couple of my own.· I also have an old "300-in-1 Electronics Lab" that came with a huge breadboard, multiple LEDs, pushbuttons, a transformer, antenna, coils, and even photoresistor, and speakers, etc, etc.· I also want to get into PIC programming being that I seem to have had such good experience learning the stamp.· I want to integrate the two.· My question is this.· I want to use my Basic Stamp II Homework board, and the other kit's breadboard if needed, to program various PIC Micros.· I believe it can be done.· I know how the Stamp is programed and how it executes it's programming and how PICs are programed, but I want to create a project that would make it possible to place a PIC of some kind, it would be nice for all PICs but that is probably stretching it, onto the breadboard and simply using the Stamp and a small porgram to transfer a PIC's program from the PC to the PIC.· Is this possible with the technology I have?· If so, I would love to accomplish this.· I would rather use my Stamp to program my PICs than have to go to another company and buy a specialized expensive PIC programmer.· I thank you for your time.

Comments

• jakjrjakjr Posts: 88
    edited 2004-08-11 04:42
    I dont know (im sure somone else does though) if its possible to do what your wanting to do, I would assume its not possible.

Anyways, I dont know if you like these kind of things but have a look at this: http://www.apogeekits.com/pic_programmer_k8048.htm