Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Problem connecting a PS/2 mouse to a Basic Stamp — Parallax Forums

Problem connecting a PS/2 mouse to a Basic Stamp

BobbyJBobbyJ Posts: 22
edited 2004-08-04 13:37 in BASIC Stamp
Standard disclaimer: I am new to Basic Stamps

I am working on a prodject and am trying to connect a PS/2 mouse to a BS2. The reason for using a PS/2 mouse is simply because I have a few extras laying around.·I was planning on using the SHIFTIN and SHIFTOUT commands to handle communications with the mouse.·The commands seemed to be almost perfect for what what I needed to do.

Here's the problem I have. The command reference for SHIFTIN and SHIFTOUT·both state that they·will·generate the clock signal. But, the PS/2 mouse protocol states that the mouse always generates the clock signal. Having both devices generate the clock signal seems like it would be a problem.

So far·the only work around I can think of is·using PULSIN to listen for the clock signal. But the problem I see with this is the command reference states, "PULSIN will wait, for the desired pulse, for up to the maximum pulse width it can measure". For the BS2 that is 131.07 ms. There is a really good chance that the mouse·will sit idle for peirods much·longer than that. I am pretty much all "googled-out" looking up info on the PS/2 protocol, and do not know for sure if the mouse·sends any data when it is idle. I am assuming it does not, which means that PULSIN will do a lot of "timing out" waiting to the clock signal to start.

Anybody have a solution for this?

Comments

• K de JongK de Jong Posts: 154
    edited 2004-08-04 00:00
    Why don't you take an esier problem to solve with the Stam first to get acquainted a bit.

All these newbies with their fantastic ideas.................

Klaus
  • DonDon Posts: 34
    edited 2004-08-04 00:40