Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New Morse Code encoding? — Parallax Forums

New Morse Code encoding?

After having a grand old time with Jon McPhalen's 'Beyond the LED Basics' (the article in Nuts & Volts was the whole reason I bought a Propellor 2 - Newbie here! Hi y'all! ) I thought I might have found a better way of Morse Code encoding.

I call it 'start-bit encoding'. Every character (and prosign!) is encoded in one byte. Every byte has zero or more leading zeros, and a '1' for a start bit. The leading zeros and the start bit are ignored by the decoder, and the remaining bits provide the Morse, '0' for a 'dit' and '1' for a 'dah'.

The major improvement is the ability to handle six- or even seven- symbol Morse encodings. I'm sure the theory is old hat, but here's how to make it work with JonnyMac's code. I appended _sb to each name.

(sorry about this, but very strange things happen when I try to use the code tag. It 'encodes' one line - then no more, wherever I put the closing tag. Weird.)

First, the decoder, decoder_sb.txt:

I'm sure clever folks could easily improve my decoder.

A trivial change to the calling routine, morse_str_sb.txt :

I added the inter-character delay so "STSTST" wouldn't look like "VVV", and finally the lookup table, alphas_sb.txt:

And it all remains under the MIT license.

Have fun! S.

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,924
    edited 2021-03-13 18:37

FTR, the Morse encoding that I demonstrated is by Scott Edwards, and goes all the way back to the BASIC Stamp 1 (great grandfather of the P2). I sneaked it into this (P1 powered) display:

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/74/5c/20/745c20bd40221477bedc1732350166ee.jpg