Shop Learn
Forum editor debug extravaganza — Parallax Forums

Forum editor debug extravaganza

Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
edited 2021-02-02 15:13 in General Discussion

Okay, time to investigate stuff

Spin syntax highlighting test: (obviously won't work yet)

CON
_clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x
_xinfreq = 5_000_000
_stack   = 128
OBJ
  pst: "Parallax Serial Terminal"
PUB main
  pst.start(115_200)

  repeat 20
    pst.str(string("Hello World!",13))

Interestingly, code block is yellow in the preview.

Do language specifiers do anything? (NO!)

puts gonk unless errno
puts gonk unless errno
puts gonk unless errno

Does inline code still eat line breaks for breakfast? Yes.

Is @ in codeblocks still a problem? no!

@VonSzarvas .send(:thanks) unless codeblock_broken?
«1

Comments

  • pointless post

    aa bb
    
  • Oh, and what about ye olde double/triple @ bug?

    @
    @@
    @@@
    
    @someone
    @@someone
    @@@someone
    

    Seems all fine

  • Huh, the editor seems to eat HTML tags (unless inside a code block). Inline HTML support is normal for full markdowns, odd to see it in a forum editor. Hope it properly sanitizes it.

    <strong>bold me daddy</strong>:
    bold me daddy

    <img src="https://gitlab.com/Wuerfel_21/coolpropellerprojectlist/-/raw/master/assets/reimu_banner.jpg">test</img> :
    imagetest

    <script>alert("Owie ouch!");</script> :
    alert("Owie ouch!");

    unless onken
      puts "ok"
    end
    
    unless onken
      puts "ok"
    end
    
  • Ok, can't seem to get it to do anything ultra-broken. OTOH it sadly won't let me force a code block's language, either...

    Are tables a thing again? Sure are, still gonked CSS

    Tables Are Cool
    col 3 is right-aligned $1600
    col 2 is centered $12
    zebra stripes are neat $1
  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
    edited 2021-02-02 16:39

    On using the code block button.

    If you click it while nothing is highlighted, it inserts two backticks. (bad UX)
    If you click it while something not containing a newline is selected, it surrounds it in single backticks (good)
    If you click it while something containing a newline is selected, it surrounds it in newlines+tripple backticks (good)

    The problem is the lack of a seperate case for "no selection". This logic can be found around line 690 of https://forums.parallax.com/plugins/editor/js/buttonbarplus.js?v=1.8.2 :

    var multiline = $(TextArea).hasSelection().indexOf('\n') >= 0;
    

    If this is modified to

    var selection = $(TextArea).hasSelection();
    var multiline = selection === "" || selection.indexOf('\n') >= 0;
    

    it will always insert a full code block.

    A smarter idea would be to check if the cursor is on a blank line, but this isn't too troubling, either

  • can we do horizontal seperators?

    sure can

  • well, it worked in the preview...

  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
    edited 2021-02-02 19:24

    stars



    hyphens


    underscores



    aaah, i remember, the hyphens use as an alternative H2 overrides the separator use

  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
    edited 2021-02-02 19:27

    Can we use reference-style links?
    Test...

    Yes we can, although I'm not really sure if this is useful at all

  • How about subscript and superscript?
    -Phil

  • doesn't seem to be a thing. Markdown usually doesn't have it and inserting HTML sup/sub tags doesn't work, either.

  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 22,931
    edited 2021-02-02 21:08

    @Wuerfel_21 said:
    doesn't seem to be a thing. Markdown usually doesn't have it and inserting HTML sup/sub tags doesn't work, either.

    BBcode had it. It's an absolute necessity!
    -Phil

  • Well, the easiest way to get superscript in would be to figure out where the list allowed HTML tags is and add <sup> and <sub>

  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
    edited 2021-02-02 21:24

    Actually, wait a second, it does already allow sup and sub, the CSS is just gonked.

    wtf is this rule even

  • Okay, posted CSS tweak to fix it...

    Is kbd passed through?
    CTRL
    Sure is, but is broken by the same CSS rule

  • Here's another fun one: ye olde HTML4 font tag works

    It actually gets translated into a span with a style attribute (and I do not seem to be able to abuse it into making my text obnoxiously big.)

  • if hmm
      uuhh
    else
     fff
    end
    
    
    if hmm
      uuhh
    else
     fff
    end
    
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 22,931
    edited 2021-02-02 23:30

    xi2
    Yup, works now. Except that font size doesn't get restored.
    -Phil

  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
    edited 2021-02-02 23:29

    You have to close the tags, duh
    <sup>whatever</sup>

  • @Wuerfel_21 said:
    You have to close the tags, duh
    <sup>whatever</sup>

    Left out the slash in /sup.
    -Phil

  • But if the forum is now accepting HTML tags, why do we even need Markdown?
    -Phil

  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
    edited 2021-02-02 23:37

    Uh, because it's vastly less annoying to write than HTML?

    Also, as said earlier, being able to use HTML tags is a fairly standard markdown feature

  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 22,931
    edited 2021-02-02 23:59

    Uh, because it's vastly less annoying to write than HTML?

    Not really, if you already know HTML but not Markdown. It was stated a few lines up that an advantage of Markdown is that it's already used by github and others of that ilk. That the virtually unsable github uses them is not much of a recommendation.

    Testing pre:

    test

    Unfortunately, HTML pre tags do not work as expected. They create a code block, wherein other tags are still active, instead of allowing a person to demonstrate other tags, like the [noparse] tags did years ago. We still need something equivalent to [noparse].

    -Phil

  • Wuerfel_21Wuerfel_21 Posts: 1,449
    edited 2021-02-03 00:06

    Not really, if you already know HTML but not Markdown.

    IDK, i'd write

    - Something
    - ya bla
      - thingy
    
    • Something
    • ya bla
      • thingy

    over

    <ul>
    <li>Something</li>
    <li>ya bla</li>
    <ul>
    <li>thingy</li>
    </ul></ul>
    
    • Something
    • ya bla
      • thingy

    any day!


    Unfortunately, HTML pre tags do not work as expected

    They work exactly as expected and supposed.
    If you want to do HTML, you gotta go full HTML and escape everything with HTML entities like &gt;

    <i>whatever</i>
    
    <i>Markdown code blocks don't have that issue</i>
    

  • Unrelatedly, I finally figured out how to make my text obnoxiously large. No, I won't tell ;)

  • Markdown code blocks don't have that issue.

    True. But what if I want my former [noparse] text to be part of a regular paragraph and not a code block? Escaped HTML characters are a PITA, for sure. There must surely be a simpler way!

    -Phil

  • Usually you should be able to escape > and < with a backslash like you can with most other things, but IDK why it doesn't do that.
    You can escape most of the *markdown* _syntax_ stuff that way though

  • Still unrelatedly, I figured out how to do even larger text. This terrible art must be kept secret.

  • (TBH I don't think it's actually a problem, if someone wants to be an obnoxious prick, they don't need enormous fonts to do it).

  • I must say this is the most hilariously productive thread I’ve ever read.

Sign In or Register to comment.