Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
So, you want a JonnyMac and P2 Edge? Here's my advice! — Parallax Forums

So, you want a JonnyMac and P2 Edge? Here's my advice!

Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,386
edited 2020-12-08 05:16 in Propeller 2
Hey P2 Community,

By now you've probably noticed that some P2 products arrive into stock, go out of stock, and that production starts and stops as we discover small problems and wait two weeks for new PCBs. You've been acquiring bits and pieces as you see they are available on www.parallax.com. Had we waited to have ample supplies of *everything* in stock so we could have offered it all together, then we'd be waiting until January. The cost of waiting exceeded the benefits, so we got started.

As you know, I'm a salesman at heart. Please pause for a short story while we build anticipation around this message. When JonnyMac worked at Parallax we once met with the executives at RadioShack (circa 1998) to introduce the BASIC Stamp a key product in their lineup (thanks to recommendations of Forrest M Mims III, Steve Leininger of TRS-80 fame, and others) after the failed "Incredible Universe" stores. After our presentation, the corporate buyers "locked" us into a freezing room on the 12th story of their Fort Worth, TX headquarters and said, "give us your best price for 7,000 What's a Microcontroller Kits and if we like what you write on this whiteboard, we'll be back in 10 minutes with a purchase order!" Jon obviously believed in the product and knew that consumers would experience something much greater than the $79 they paid RadioShack (even though they were also pitched for a cell phone service and battery club membership). I was probably more concerned about managing the supply chain and cash flow. Sure enough, RadioShack brought many customers to Parallax!