Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
The NCD 40-Pin DIP P2 Board — Parallax Forums

The NCD 40-Pin DIP P2 Board

Dave HeinDave Hein Posts: 6,347
edited 2020-11-04 20:02 in Propeller 2
I've started playing around with KiCad to see if I can design a 40-Pin DIP P2 board. The board would be similar to the P2 EDGE, but with only 32 I/O pins and a DIP connector instead of an edge connector. The DIP connector uses 0.1" pin spacing with 1.1" or less between the rows. The goal is to have a board that can plug into a wireless breadboard with the hobbyist in mind.

I presented this concept before by hijacking other people's threads, so I thought it was time to start a thread specifically on this concept. I've never used KiCad before, so I'm learning as I go. I've only designed one PCB before using Eagle.

Thanks, to Cluso and Peter for helping me to get started on this project. I also want to thank Tubular for discussions that we've had about the P2 board he is developing.

I've downloaded and installed KiCad and added Cluso's P2 KiCad library file. This is what I have so far.
ncd.jpg
The board size is 1.2" by 2.0". I've only connected GND, P0-P7, P16-P23, P32-P39 and P48-55. I still need to add 1.8V and 3.3V regulators, flash, bypass caps and a 4-pin Prop Plug header.
580 x 776 - 184K
ncd.jpg 183.7K

Comments

• jmgjmg Posts: 15,140
    Dave Hein wrote: »
    ... I've never used KiCad before, so I'm learning as I go. I've only designed one PCB before using Eagle..

There is a KiCAD plugin called WireIT
    https://forum.kicad.info/t/wireit-pcbnew-plugin-for-adding-cutting-swapping-wires-in-the-physical-layout/11212
    that allows free-form trace connect and net-name, without a schematic, which can be useful for quick concept checks.

Some tips around OSC choices
    * The P2 can drive ok from a clipped sine oscillator, which have much better precision than xtals. A simple AC coupling cap is all that is needed. Can become a low value R for CMOS osc.