Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
License Preference? — Parallax Forums

License Preference?

I am wondering what the best license is for a GitHub repo. I have put my first real project repo on GitHub, and I went with the GNU GPL 3.0 license. I know Parallax has stated that it is best to use the MIT license with OBEX files, but I am curious as to the differences between the two.

Comments

• (note: I am not a lawyer, so take this as nothing more than my personal understanding. If you are really concerned about the legalities, make sure to read the licenses and consult an actual lawyer. That said...)

The difference is that GPL is a "copyleft" license, meaning that if someone makes derivative work from GPLed code, then that code must also be GPLed. The argument is that, if someone is going to benefit from your hard work, then they must contribute back as well. Note, however, that this doesn't mean that someone using GPLed code for their own private purposes must publish their own code. Instead, it's meant to ensure that those who publicly profit from your work will turn around and contribute back in kind.

MIT, on the other hand, is consider to be a "liberal" license, where it basically says you don't care what people do with it, except to make sure the original license is included any time your source is distributed.

Note that there's also a LGPL (Lesser GPL) that is often used for library-type code. In that case, one is permitted to make use of your unaltered code without requiring their own code to be (L)GPL. However, is someone modifies your code, then those modifications are subject to the copyleft aspect of the license and must also be LGPLed. This basically falls between the other two licenses. If someone is just using the source as-is, then it's not much different than using unaltered code under MIT licensing. If someone does alter it, then it's basically treated as GPL.