Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Evaluation Process — Parallax Forums

Evaluation Process

We are almost ready to exit this phase of engineering development and move on to figuring out where the P2 fits in the real world.

In my mind, there will always be a call for more RAM and improved total bandwidth. IMHO it is always going to be faster to access Hub RAM than almost any other option. This means a multi-P2 design is always going to be superior to any other option when it comes to adding RAM. For increasing total bandwidth a multi-P2 is always going to be better than a single (similarly configured) P2.

I'm not an engineer, but I want a local area network of P2's. I don't know if my bus lines should be tied low(to eliminate noise) or high (to allow tri-stating).

I would like to see a protoboard that does nothing but connect two P2_ES_v2's. Thiswould allow me a convenient way to play with networked P2's. I know... I could do it myself... If I wanted to dig out the design software and go through the process of figuring out which Gerber files I need to send. This stuff doesn't interest me. I'm sorry... I know it is like honey to most of us here, but I really just don't want to mess with it.

Volunteers? Parallax?

Thanks

Rich

Comments

• rjo__rjo__ Posts: 2,114
    edited 2019-09-27 13:39
    Oh... why not just use a cable? I'm going to use the P2's default, naïve pin configurations. I'm willing to do some soldering:)

Thanks
  • rjo__ wrote: »
    Oh... why not just use a cable?

This was my first thought too!

Sure, there's always educational value doing this stuff yourself. But it also takes a lot of time you might not have, so getting 2 or 3 Eval boards and a pack of jumper wires could be a reasonable option. Probably not much more cost than rolling your own at this stage either.

These things are always relative I suppose!