Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Revisiting XMM Mode Using Modern Memory Chips — Parallax Forums

Revisiting XMM Mode Using Modern Memory Chips

Wingineer19Wingineer19 Posts: 279
edited 2019-06-22 16:11 in Propeller 1
Greetings Everyone:

I'm a retiree and a newbie here, so I now have the time to ponder some of the great mysteries of the Universe. Like XMM mode on the Prop1 for example.

Of course as Engineers we never really retire, so here goes this project...

I'm using the Parallax Project USB Board: https://www.parallax.com/product/32810

I've been looking over various memory schemes developed for the Prop1, and have settled on duplicating the PMC since it involves the smallest amount of Board space using the fewest number of Pins and chips.

Check out these little jewels I now have in my hot little hands:

512KB SRAM: http://www.issi.com/WW/pdf/IS62-65WVS5128GALL-BLL.pdf
4MB FLASH: http://www.issi.com/WW/pdf/25LP-WP032D.pdf

I've already installed these two chips onto the Project Board.

Instead of following the PMC convention of using Pins P0 to P7 to communicate with these chips, I've done the following:
P27 - "D3" = SIO3 = (HOLD On SRAM) ( HOLD#/RESET# On Flash)
P26 - "D2" = SIO2 = (DNU On SRAM) (WP# On Flash)
P25 - "D1" = SIO1 = SO On Both SRAM And Flash
P24 - "D0" = SIO0 = SI On Both SRAM And Flash
P23 - SCLK (Common To SRAM and FLASH)
P22 - RAMCS (Selects SRAM)
P21 - FLCS (Selects FLASH)
P20 - SDCS (Selects SD Card)

Right now I don't have the SD Card holder installed, and don't plan on using it for this exercise anyway, so I'm assuming all references to the SD Card can be ignored.

I wrote a program using SimpleIDE that reads and writes to the SRAM (see below attachments).