Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
For what purposes is the "Basic Stamp Homework Board USB" relevant ? — Parallax Forums

For what purposes is the "Basic Stamp Homework Board USB" relevant ?

Hello everyone,
I'm currently an intern in a small company and my training supervisor wants me to work on a Basic Stamp Homework board USB. He wants me to use a Basic Stamp Board USB and its accelerometer and to make it communicates with a digi BL4S110 (with a zigbee). This whole system is mean to be a network that watch out if hatchs are open illegaly on a private property (from another company).
I wanted to know if it was relevant to use a Basic Stamp over Arduino on this professional projec and if it is the case, why ?

Kind regards,
Theron Julien

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2018-08-13 13:18
    Since you are an intern and this is part of your training, I would ask you:
    How do you choose one particular technology over another for a project?
    Is it based on price? If so, what are the hidden costs of any technology that may distort the price?
    Is it based on particular features that are wanted? In this case, what's the accelerometer for? Do you need that feature or is there something else, possibly cheaper, simpler, more reliable?
    Why these particular choices? What features does a Basic Stamp Board USB have that fits the project's needs?
    Arduino is an architecture, not a particular product. You're comparing different things. What Arduino board are you considering? What are its features? What are the costs involved? What additional parts might be needed?
    What kind of support is available for the boards you're considering? Does that matter in your case? What's the lifetime of this product and will support be available in the future?
    I have a Basic Stamp HomeWork Board USB in front of me. Where's the accelerometer? Where's the Zigbee?