Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PropBasic SUBs — Parallax Forums

PropBasic SUBs

This is my first attempt at trying to get a better understanding of how to use PropBasic subroutines. All this program does is, turns on a pin, with an LED attached, for a specified amount of time. I think I put in enough comments to explain things.

In the subroutine itself I used VAR, at this point, I am not sure if some other variable type should have been used, like maybe HUB.

Ray
' led3.pbas
' July 18, 2018

DEVICE P8X32A ' Mandatory

''''' SUB defines '''''
OnOffLed SUB 

PROGRAM Start ' Mandatory

Start:
  OnOffLed 26,2000

END ' End program

''''' Subroutines '''''
' Use OnOffLed pin,time
' Example OnOffLed 26,1000 - turns on pin(led) 26 for
' one second, then turns the pin off.
SUB OnOffLed

pinum VAR __PARAM1
  time VAR __PARAM2

high pinum
  pause time
  low pinum

ENDSUB

Comments

• BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2018-07-18 13:23
    In PropBASIC variables are global to the TASK (including the main TASK). There are no "local" variables for subroutines.
    You can define variables in a SUB but it will be global anyway.
    Note that __PARAMx would be overwritten if your SUB calls another SUB, so it is best to assign the __PARAMx to a variable.
    Also when you declare the SUB you should specify how many parameters there are:
    OnOffLed SUB 2

SUB OnOffLed
      pinum VAR LONG
      time VAR LONG
      pinum = __PARAM1
      time = __PARAM2

HIGH pinum
      PAUSE time
      LOW pinum
    ENDSUB

HUB variables are for arrays, strings and passing values between TASKs.

Edit:
    Using "pinum VAR __PARAM1" just creates an alias for __PARAM1. If __PARAM1 is changed (by calling another SUB) the value would still be lost.

Bean
  • In the program below I made the changes that Bean recommended and I also added LMM to the Program Start. I wanted to see what the prop spin obj size(s) would be.
    The code sizes:
    Native - prop spin obj - 5KB