Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Catalina and the P2 - Page 4 — Parallax Forums

Catalina and the P2

Comments

• I have never used Catalina or heard of it before. I have always used SimpleIDE.

How compatible is Catalina to SimpleIDE? Is all the Andy code in it?

Mike

• RaymanRayman Posts: 13,767
    Seems like XMM should work for HyperRam & HyperFlash...
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2019-04-06 17:43
    iseries wrote: »
    I have never used Catalina or heard of it before. I have always used SimpleIDE.

Mike

Catalina has been around for over 10 years. It's been a while as Ross has taken some time off to pursue another endeavour, but it seems with the impending P2, he is back with his software magic. Here is a thread from 10 years ago:
    http://forums.parallax.com/discussion/116370/catalina-2-6-a-free-c-compiler-for-the-propeller-the-final-frontier/p1
  • RossHRossH Posts: 5,334
    edited 2019-04-06 22:34
    iseries wrote: »
    I have never used Catalina or heard of it before. I have always used SimpleIDE.

Mike

I don't know what the "Andy code" is, but Catalina was originally a C compiler for the P1 - the first! - which came with an extensive library of "plugins" to support various external peripherals, and was the first to support many of the various memory models we had to use on the P1 to support programs of any significant size (CMM, LMM, XMM etc).

It hadn't occurred to me that Catalina has been around for 10 years, but looking at some of the early dates, I realize I started work on it 12 years ago!

Makes me feel old :(

P.S. Here is the link to the last P1 release - https://forums.parallax.com/discussion/153750/catalina-3-13-2-smaller-and-faster-better-ide
    edited 2019-04-06 23:06
    I'm not sure about "first"... Catalina is great and free, but there was one you could buy before that, I think...

This is it: https://imagecraft.com/blog/2008/08/parallax-propeller-and-the-propeller-c-compiler/
    Rayman wrote: »