Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How many WS2812b's can a Propeller drive? — Parallax Forums

How many WS2812b's can a Propeller drive?

I'm sorry if this has already been asked (I tried looking first).

I'm curious how many ws2812b's a Propeller cog can drive at a decent frame rate (say 30fps)? I found an article talking about a 16Mhz Arduino running 1,000+ at 30fps, but I'm brand new to the Prop, so I'm just guessing when I assume one cog could handle this as well. How many of these have you guys driven with a Prop and what did you use to do it (PASM, C, Spin, one of the library drivers)?

Comments

• I believe the final answer will depend on how you are generating the data to be displayed, and how many pins you can use for transmission.

Some quick math:

Each pixel/led takes 24 bits of data.
    Each bit of data takes 1.25µs (That isn't a propeller limitation, it is required by the ws2812b)
    So it takes 30µs / pixel / frame.
    If you want 30 fps, then you have approximately 33333µs to send data, so you can control ~1100 LEDs on a single line, just like the arduinos that you mentioned.

However, all of that is assuming you only are using 1 output line. If you have 2 data busses, you could get double that, etc. A single cog, with code written in assembly, could probably control 4 lines fairly easily, though I will admit that I don't have any example code to back that up.

The bigger issue is how you are generating this data. If it is a simple pattern that you can generate on the fly, then you could probably get all 8 cogs running, each controlling 4 output lines. If you need to generate the data in a second helper cog, then the limitation will be more based on how you transfer and store the data. I can give more insight here if you give more details on what your end goal is.
  • MJBMJB Posts: 1,235
    edited 2017-08-16 23:03
    IF you just have a look at the datasheet it gives
    800kHz bitrate
    24 bit/pix
    30 f/sec