Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Single Relay Board — Parallax Forums

Single Relay Board

Hello,

I'm trying to run an Aerobed motor for a short period of time to "make it snow" by blowing a bunch of hole punch snowflakes for a Christmas decoration. The blower motor is one of those DC car cigarette lighter type that run on 12V DC. I understand the coding portion of this, that part is pretty clear from the code sample. I'm using the Basic Stamp, Board of Education revC.

My question is on wiring up the single relay board. I've never used this component before, or any relay for that matter, and the documentation is a little unclear (https://www.parallax.com/downloads/single-relay-board-product-guide). I'm not sure if the 5V is supposed to come from plugging it into Vdd, Vin, Vss or a separate 5V battery pack altogether. The same question applies to the ground wire, where does that go?

Also, I know I need to put a fuse in the load side based on the documentation, but any advice on what type of fuse I should get? Is that just a fuse for a car, would that suffice?

Here is the product page:
https://www.parallax.com/product/27115

Any help would be much appreciated! Thank you!

Comments

• The Board of Education and single relay module is perfect for this. Thoughts:

The Board of Education has a 5v regulator capable of supplying 1 amp. The single relay board only needs 5v at 85mA for proper operation, so the BoE can easily support it. Vdd on the BoE is where the 5V pin of the relay module should be connected.

The fuse on the diagram in the single relay module is to protect the load circuit, not the relay. The text below the diagram states:
    In the example in Figure 1 the relay is switching a 120 VAC load, such as a lamp or brushless fan. Notice
    the fuse in the example is 5 A, not 10 A. The fuse should be chosen according to the load, not the max
    current of the relay. You want the fuse to blow when the device draws more current than it is supposed