Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with extending highres VGA text driver — Parallax Forums

Help with extending highres VGA text driver

Hi all,

I tried to extend the 1024x768 / 8x12 px font graphics driver from Chip Gracey with the following changes:

+ use 8x16 font instead of 8x12 which results in 128x48 tiles
+ use full character set 0-255 instead of 0-127
+ use independent color for each tile (graphics memory contains 2 bytes per tile, char + color)

I know it will take a lot of memory, but for me that will be OK as I am using a dedicated Propeller chip for my GPU.
(Should result in about 12k for graphics mem + rom font + code)

I am new to this and decoding / adapting PASM code is a bit hard for me, so it would be nice if somebody is willing to help me out here :-)

Thanks in advance!

Patrick

Comments

• ElectrodudeElectrodude Posts: 1,621
    edited 2016-06-10 14:43
    Chip Gracey has 16x16 tile 4 color drivers that do various resolutions. I've attached a possibly half-broken modification I made to his 1280x1024 16x16 tile driver that makes it do 8x8 tiles at 1024x768 resolution. You might try modifying it to do 8x16 tiles. I've also attached an 8x8 font that works with it.

I'm pretty sure my 1024x768 8x8 driver is mostly based off of Chip Gracey's 1280x1024 driver, but I probably took parts of it from Chip Gracey's 1024x768 16x16 or 16x32 tile driver, which I've also attached. I had to base my driver off of the 1280x1024 driver because I needed more cogs to process the smaller tiles.