Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Boot a Spin program from Prop C? — Parallax Forums

Boot a Spin program from Prop C?

Gents:
The Spin sd.Run allows a Spin program to boot another Spin program from the SD card. It also allows a Spin program to boot a Prop C program from the SD card. The question I have is it possible to boot a Spin program from a Prop C program? A fair amount of Google searching hasn't yielded an answer and I suspect this is because the capability doesn't exist. Given that the Spin language is interpreted it requires the interpreter to be resident in RAM in order to run a Spin program. Hence, to boot a Spin program from C would require both loading the interpreter and the desired program, thus a much more complicated boot process.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Comments

• The Spin interpreter is in ROM, hence always present. So what you're wanting to do should be rather easily pulled off. I'm not a C programmer, though, so I can't offer more than hope and the likelihood of success.

-Phil
  • DavidZemonDavidZemon Posts: 2,973
    edited 2016-05-09 16:50
    This thread may be of interest to you. I've collected into the first post all of the different ways to combine C/C++ and Spin applications.
    http://forums.parallax.com/discussion/157563/combining-spin-and-c

I've never personally done what you're looking for (though I know it's been asked here before) but I think you might want to take a look into SpinWrap first and then if that doesn't work for you, Spin2Cpp. Spin2Cpp I'm much more familiar with, and it gives you a few different options:

1) Extract only the "DAT" section of a Spin file. This is useful if you want to use an existing PASM driver in a .spin file but then interact with it via C/C++.