Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to / Can the "mechanical / metal clacking " be filtered from this video's audio track? — Parallax Forums

How to / Can the "mechanical / metal clacking " be filtered from this video's audio track?

I'd like to remove as much as the "mechanical /metal clacking" as possible from
this video's audio track, leaving only the "morse tone", which is ~780hz

I have Audacity and Goldwave, any other program suggestions are welcome.

I tried messing with Audacity's "noise reduction" effect, and had some limited success,
but as an Audacity newbie, I'm thinking there might be better techniques ?

Comments

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    Try a notch filter at 700Hz with a Q of 20. After that you can copy and paste the track, invert the copy, subtract 714us (or as close as possible) from the front of the new track, then mix and render the two tracks to a new track. That new track should have a lot less noise.
  • Aren't the clicks the dits?
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,254
    xanadu wrote: »
    Aren't the clicks the dits?

No, Alicia Silverstone is the ditz.

• kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    xanadu wrote: »
    Aren't the clicks the dits?

No, that's mechanical noise from the keyer. the high pitched tones are the dits.
  • I guess I'm the ditz lol, all of the the tones sound the same length to me.
  • I'm pretty sure she sends dits with her with her thumb and dahs with her trigger finger.

Check out the frequency counter at the top of the center rack.
  • Heater.Heater. Posts: 21,230
    Yeah, she has one of those trick Morse paddle things, hit it one way and it send out a string of "dits", hit it the other way and it sends out a string of "das". Fast.

An old friend of my was really into Morse. One time his wife complained that he was tapping out Morse on the side of the bed whilst he was dreaming.