Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Education Rules KO — Parallax Forums

Education Rules KO

Hi All,

I'm new to the Propeller and to the Forum - and it probably didn't help that I posted this in the wrong thread. Forgive me for starting a new discussion.

I am a 50+ hardware engineer living south of London, UK, with an interest in building open hardware for education - amongst many other things.

My motivation is to recreate a compact device (platform) with the capability of a late 1980's style home microcomputer, of the 512kByte to 1Mbyte class (think Commodore Amiga, Atari 1040ST, Acorn Archimedes).

With a Forth inspired GUI / IDE and constructed on a small hobbyist board - that can be built into educational projects. Self hosting is desirable, but with an umbilical option to link to a PC or handheld device - where the application demands it.

The specification should not be tied to any one type of microcontroller - because new and better things always come along - such as Prop 2 - but an initial implementation would be on 1 or 2 Propellers with 512K SRAM and possibly some serial FRAM for rapid, non-volatile update of program code.

I have no desire for this device to run Linux, that is an extra layer of complexity that is just not needed.

It should however have optional internet connectivity (Wiznet or ESP8266) for remote communications, file sharing and the like. Application code downloadable from obex - but with drag and drop into memory.

There should be a strong educational content in the building and programming of this device.

It should be capable of providing a learning experience in practical microelectronics, digital logic, computer arithmetic and algorithms, coding, interfacing and machine control. Everything that young, 21st century citizens need.

If necessary a DIY (self-build) version for stripboard construction using DIL packages should at least be practical. A starter kit cost of US$20 or less, with expandable add-ons or plug-ins.