Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
USB Testing - Page 7 — Parallax Forums

USB Testing

Comments

• Looking good! :thumb:
  • Rayman wrote: »
    Got new circuit boards and stencil :)
    It looks good to me too, and I hope everything checks out OK!
  • Very nice, Ray.

You might need to take the solder off the ball pads with some wick, if you'll be adding more with the stencil. I'm no expert on this but just seems like HASL + stencil solder + balls would be too much solder

Looks like a nice sharp stencil too
  • jmgjmg Posts: 15,140
    Tubular wrote: »
    You might need to take the solder off the ball pads with some wick, if you'll be adding more with the stencil. I'm no expert on this but just seems like HASL + stencil solder + balls would be too much solder

Ball removal sounds risky to me. I'd keep the balls, but not overdo the paste - just enough to ensure thermal path from pad-ball, and reflow on a hot pad should work.

• I'm to the point where I've got Control and Bulk IN/OUT transactions sorted, with CRC16 calcs/checks on all DATAx packets. It took me longer than expected to be able to handle DATAx packets if their payload size was less than the maximum allowed, as during device enumeration there are times the host is required to ask for more data than it's likely to receive. Distinguishing payload bytes from the CRC bytes in a time-sensitive way when there's a short packet put a little wrinkle in process when it came to verifying the incoming CRC...

Anyway, I got past that little hurdle, but along the way I had time to evaluate the how the receiver status flags are implemented. Though initially ambivalent, I now think that the receiver status bits should reflect, as close as possible, the state of the bus as applied by the transmitter. If I recall, the change discussion was about how many bit periods should follow the EOP->J transition before setting the J (K) status flag, in order to make inter-packet delay application more "automatic".