Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
HELP — Parallax Forums

HELP

Igna7iousIgna7ious Posts: 4
edited 2015-11-23 18:32 in Propeller 1
I am working on a project for Engineering where we use the activity bot to navigate a track in 90 seconds using qtis. This is my first time programming so I don't know understand much. So far I can navigate however the robot can't make the time. I created a program to make it move faster on the straights then slow down before the junctions. For reasons that I don't understand it only works halfway. The counters work and increment around the entire track however at halfway the program stops before entering the for loops at work_around5. The thing that puzzles me is that work_around1-4 work as intended after that it just stops. I have already replaced the batteries with a fresh set. Anything you can give me will help.

Comments

• I'd love to help, but I have no idea what your program does when there are 19 different functions named "work_around*". To me, "work around" is synonymous with duct tape - as in, a temporary fix. Given that your file is named "work around.c" I wonder if that's not necessary the case though. What are those functions supposed to do?
  • Hi Igna7ious,

One problem seems to be with initializing variable values. I see a lot of c == value in places where it looks like you intend to assign values instead of compare them. c = value assigns a value to c. In contrast, c == value returns 1 if they are equal, or 0 if they are not. So, make sure your statements that are evaluating conditions, like if, while, else if, and case use the variable == value to make a comparison. Example, if(squareSides == 4) {...} All intended assignments need a single equals. Example, triangleSides = 3;