Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
The government wants you to register your drone. - Page 4 — Parallax Forums

The government wants you to register your drone.

Comments

• I get it, most of you don't like the idea of registering your drone.
    Except...what happens without that registration?
    I'm a professional helicopter pilot. My job is to bring a helicopter to the accident scene and then take the victim to the nearest trauma center.
    There have already been cases in which someone doing my job has had to swerve to avoid the drone of some jerk who thought it would be fun to see how close he could get to the medical helicopter. Google it.
    Let me be clear: people likely would have died if that drone had hit that helicopter. And if you're going to say, "my lightweight drone would just bounce off your heavy helicopter," tell me how many pilot-in-command hours you have of a real takes-you-with-it aircraft? Anything that makes pieces near a helicopter is going to send those pieces into the tail rotor - that's aerodynamics. Many helicopters, when they lose tail rotor parts, go unbalanced and rip the rest of the tail rotor drive system out. The loss of those parts messes up the balance of the helicopter, which sends it into the ground like a lawn dart.
    I'm all about a reasonable degree of liberty. But when your having fun gets my nurse, my medic and my patient killed and turns my wife into a widow, then that's too much liberty.
    Now you can say, "registration won't keep me from hitting your helicopter with my drone," and that's true. But the knowledge that you can't run away far enough fast enough from the FBI who will be on the way to your house as soon as any of the drone parts are recovered, might.
    Register the damn drone. What are you, stupid?
  • Redline,

Welcome to the forums!
  • Redline,

Please watch the tone of your posts.