Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Bluesmirf Propeller Communications for Dummies — Parallax Forums

Bluesmirf Propeller Communications for Dummies

Hi all,
Few quick question involving the Bluesmirf bluetooth module and propeller. I found the very well made Bluesmirf code off of the OBEX by Matthew Brown but am a little confused as to how to set it up for simple serial communications between a PC and the propeller board. The initialization commands just ask for master or slave mode and the PIN code while that method handles all the connections internally. How would you properly initialize and send data via wireless like any serial port? Do I need to open a serial port first using the FullDuplexSerial object? Does the bluesmirf need to be connected to any specific pins that are dedicated to Tx and Rx? Do the Bluesmirf and declared Tx/Rx pins on the prop board need to be crossed (Bsmirf Tx = Prop Rx)? Thanks again and pardon my naivete in advance...I am still very new to all this!

SPIN files attached below

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2015-10-04 21:59
    At first glance it looks like "BlueSmirf_Bluetooth_Modem.spin" is intended to be used as a serial driver with various methods passing through commands to "FullDuplexSerial.spin" (FDS) I don't see how the driver can work in its current state. There's not call to start method of FDS.

I don't know enough about Bluesmirf modules to know what sort of advantages they offer but there are lots of inexpensive Bluetooth modules which work great with the Propeller. I've used HC-05 modules myself and I think they work great.