Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Breathalyzer using RCTIME — Parallax Forums

Breathalyzer using RCTIME

Hello all. I am a complete novice to programming and electronics so please ignore my ignorance and please keep the responses as simple as possible.

I am attempting to create a device that only opens if you have a BAC over a certain amount (Its kinda a gag gift for someone).

I have a Basic stamp with an MQ-3 Alcohol sensor: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8880. I am using the RCTIME command and I think (not positive) that I have everything wired correctly.

My problem is that the reading from the sensor is not consistent. The result in the debug screen from RCTIME is not consistent. Sometimes when I execute the program I will get a reading of 11,000, then I will turn it off, turn it back on the next day and it will be 1,000. Its like its switching by an order of magnitude from day to day. I am trying to get a baseline for what ambient air would read on the sensor but I can't even get that because the value is fluctuating erratically.

I have a theory that variable I am saving the RCTIME result to is having some type of overrun error and resetting or something, but I am not sure about that. Could you guys please review my code and let me know what is going on? It might be something simple, but unfortunately I have extremely limited experience with this stuff. Any thing helps, thanks!

Here is the code: (Note I am not concerned about the LEDs, I know how to get those to light up how I want. I am concerned with the RCTIME result)
' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

result VAR Word

DO
HIGH 0 'Charges the capacitor on pin 0
PAUSE 1000 'This gives the capacitor time to charge,originally I had this at "1" but changed it to "100" based on a tutorial
RCTIME 0,1,result 'Measurese RC discharge time on pin 0
DEBUG HOME, DEC result 'Displays value
PAUSE 50
IF (result >= 1400) THEN
GOTO Blueled
ELSEIF (1399 > result > 1200) THEN
GOTO Yellowled1