Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
2914_altimeter object in combination with LCD_Ding_Batty gives strange result *SOLVED* — Parallax Forums

2914_altimeter object in combination with LCD_Ding_Batty gives strange result *SOLVED*

JeroenGJeroenG Posts: 5
edited 2015-09-04 18:25 in Propeller 1
Hi everyone,

I have a HD44780 lcd where I want to display altitude on.
Using the spin object of Ding-Batty (http://obex.parallax.com/object/337) I'm able to display text, and I've already used it to display gps information.
When I however call the start function of the 2914 Altimeter object (https://www.parallax.com/downloads/altimeter-driver-and-demo-spin-source-code) the display is showing strange things.
Sometimes it displays space characters in between the text (e x a m p l e), and sometimes also strange characters.

I confirmed that both objects work fine separately, but not together.
Unfortunatly I'm still a newbie on spin, and I have no clue on why this happens.

I attached the test project that I used to verify the problem.
Is there anyone who can help?

Thanks
Jeroen

Comments

• If I get a chance later tonight I'll take a look. I'm not familiar with the code for the altimeter...
  • Ding-BattyDing-Batty Posts: 276
    edited 2015-09-03 03:22
    I was able to reproduce the problem (with a different display and no altimeter hardware).

It looks like there's a bug in the 29124 Altimeter object code. In the start_explicit() function, the code tries to set the resolution to 1024, but it does this before initializing I2C or access to the altimeter, which I think results in collecting samples() using incompletely initialized variables.

I moved the call to set_resolution() in the start_explicit() code that should be sufficient to fix the problem:
    PUB start_explicit(sc, sd, bkgnd) | i

{{ Start the object using a prescribed pinout for SCL and SDA.
      ''
      '' `Parameters:
      ''