Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
(relatively) Simple Halloween Project — Parallax Forums

(relatively) Simple Halloween Project

Hello everybody,

My name is Steve and I'm pretty new to robotics. I got an ActivityBot for my birthday and I've been playing around with it a good deal. Now Halloween is coming up and I would like to turn my ActivityBot into a display at a haunted house that my college chapter of the Florida Engineering Society is hosting. My idea is to mount a decorative "head" on top of the main chassis of the ActivityBot, and have a rotating PING))) sensor detect objects in a range around the chassis, then, compare distances of objects around the ActivityBot and simply "point" the front of the head towards the nearest of the objects.

The purpose is for the "head" to simply rotate in order to be "looking at" the nearest person walking in front of the ActivityBot until that person moves out of range, then to find the new "nearest object" and rotate to be "looking at" that object. I was thinking that the easiest way to acheive this would be to have the chassis stay completely still, and just mount the "head" on a rotating platform that could then be turned by the servo's of the ActivityBot.

I've been programming in C using SimpleIDE as the tutorials for the activity bot recommend, and I would just like some help developing the code I can use for my project as I have little programming experience outside of the ActivityBot tutorial.

If this should be posted somewhere else in the forum's please let me know.

Thanks
~Steve

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,254
    edited 2015-08-26 04:15