Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
pulse feedback for pwm servo positioning — Parallax Forums

pulse feedback for pwm servo positioning

Hi everyone, I'm a experienced electronic tech making a driver for the parrallax standard servo but need to incorporate a pulse feedback to control
The servo position and increase stability. Anyone else experimenting in this type of feedback?

Comments

• I don't understand your question. Hobby servos generally don't provide any sort of feedback. It's possible to hack a servo and monitor the pot with an ADC and there are a few other sorts of hacks to attempt to read the position of a servo but these hacks aren't trivial.
  • There are ways to do this without needing to hack or modify a servo and that will work with almost any micro controller and almost any hobby servo. You simply monitor the current draw of the servo motor when applying the "command pulse". If the motor is in error, then it will be energized and draw more current. If the micro doing the detection is in control of the command pulse then you can also determine the direction of the error. For example, if the error happens after your command pulse stops, then you know that the error is in one direction. If an error is produced before your command pulse stops, then you know the error is in the other direction.
  • Thanks for your replies Duane and Beau, To give more info on my project the servo position controls motor speed of a device which produces its own pulse tach. I would like to monitor this and give a feedback signal to the basic stamp 2.
    By doing this the rpm of the device is more accurate. The feedback must be inputed to the bs2 and made into a correction for the pwm drive out to the standard servo. I'm getting back into the program methods of microprocessors
    but need more study to get the full extent of their flexibility of these processors. They really are neat. Boone