Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
TACHYON and the C3 ? - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

TACHYON and the C3 ?

2»

Comments

• MJBMJB Posts: 1,235
    Peter,
    How do you use the binary version (load it into the prop & start it)?  I am a novice.

Thanks
    Tom

just open the binary file  in Spin-Tool or BST (I and PEter use)
    and do program / load RAM / load EEPROM
    then set correct baud rate in terminal (for Explorer 1115200) and type ctl-c
    then it should say hello to you

Ray,
    Regarding the time it takes to load "extend", be sure that you only have an end of line delay in terraterm, not for each character.  The first time I tried it I also had the chacter delay and it took forever to load extend (I eventually just exited it.)  But when I tried with only end-of-line-delay, it went much faster and only took a couple of minutes.

Tom

- yes NO char delay
    - line delay you can experiment - 20ms should easily do it -
    I think Peter gave a even lower number recently.

edited 2015-07-29 23:10
    part of the Forth way is to 'think' less ;-)  and just try more :-)
    do it - don't think and talk about

Have not tested that just yet by doing a reset.
    just ctl-c   no need to have 2nd thougts - and you know in seconds
    Now I know that the word "fast" has been used to describe Tachyon, but as you start adding on the different .fth files, especially extend.fth, I would imagine that would make the kernel "bloated" and in turn start to run a "little" on the slow side, I would think.
    you think ?? -  try

NO, the kernel does not get "bloated"- just functionality added.
    if you do not use this additions it will NOT be any slower.
    and IF you use it - you are happy those are already there - and you save the time to write it.
    also I learnt a lot just reading Peter's code (Kernel = Tachyon.spin, Extend.fth etc.)
    But since the Prop only has 32k your memory might get full at some time.
    Just look at a 'full' configuration with: