Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with activity bot and ping bracket — Parallax Forums

Help with activity bot and ping bracket

dsomashedsomashe Posts: 21
edited 2015-06-18 20:27 in Propeller 1
I am new to the activity bot but love it so far. I installed the ping bracket, but didn't have any idea how to begin having the bot sweep and ping to avoid obstacles. I was wondering if anyone knew where to find some example source code to help me get started with the ping bracket setup. I saw PINGDAR but I think that is for the STAMP microcontroller, not the propeller board. Is this correct? Thanks so much for any help!

Comments

• twm47099twm47099 Posts: 867
    edited 2015-06-13 11:06
    dsomashe wrote: »
    I am new to the activity bot but love it so far. I installed the ping bracket, but didn't have any idea how to begin having the bot sweep and ping to avoid obstacles. I was wondering if anyone knew where to find some example source code to help me get started with the ping bracket setup. I saw PINGDAR but I think that is for the STAMP microcontroller, not the propeller board. Is this correct? Thanks so much for any help!

Look in the Learn sections of the Parallax website. In the C - Learning simple devices there is a section on Standard Servo. That will show how to sweep the Ping Bracket.

In the ActivityBot section of Learn, there is a tutorial on Navigating using ultra sound.

It is easy to navigate with the Ping in a fixed position. Using the bracket and rotating it requires that you rotate the bracket a few degrees. Stop the rotation. Take a ping reading, and then figure out what you want to do next.

Be sure to read the tutorials show how much area ping covers and how the ultrasound reflects from an object. If the angle is too shallow, the reflection might not return directly to the Ping.

When I got my bracket, the first program I wrote just mapped the area around the ABot.

Hope this helps you get started.

Tom
  • cavelambcavelamb Posts: 720