Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Building Scientific Instruments with the Propeller - Page 3 — Parallax Forums

Building Scientific Instruments with the Propeller

13»

Comments

• MikeDYurMikeDYur Posts: 2,176
    edited 2017-03-24 14:25
    RJSM, Very nice website. You were looking for it to be educational. I did get an education on what some of these scientific instruments do.
    Propeller on, Great work!
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,656
    edited 2017-03-24 16:48
    Hi Richard, last we heard from you, you were on the Amalfi coast, and I figured you'd opted to forsake Oz and instrumentation and settle for la dolce vita!

I poked around on your site and see a lot of interesting stuff--You've been playing with interesting hardware and front ends for the Propeller! I was struck by those little piezoelectric pumps you are proposing to use for the fluidic sampler.

• Welcome to the forums,
    I'm just a beginner learning by messing around,
    but wowww your photos are very inspirational

• PaulRowntreePaulRowntree Posts: 150
    edited 2017-03-25 03:52
    Hi Richard
    As a chemist with a fascination for instrumentation, I agree : the Propeller works very well in lab systems. I have built a chopper-multichannel scaler system with a prop, and it works very well as a molecular beam time-of-flight system in my research lab.
    As the Chair of my department, I see a poorly explored avenue for instruments : small systems with different sensors that can be deployed in large numbers for undergraduate teaching labs. We have 2500 first year chemistry students (6 rooms with 24 students, morning/afternoon/evening labs, 5 days a week). Equipping the labs with ~100 experimental systems is a challenge, financially and reliability-wise. I wonder if a flexible prop-based system could be developed that would allow different sensors to be used to study thermochem, spectroscopy, titrations, etc. Perhaps a RPi as the head unit?
    Cheers!