Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 - most simple analog to digital? — Parallax Forums

BS2 - most simple analog to digital?

John KauffmanJohn Kauffman Posts: 653
edited 2013-08-09 15:15 in BASIC Stamp
I've been teaching intro courses for ten years with the WAM kit that uses BS2 on homework board. Two chapters in the kit use resistive sensors (pot and phototransistor). For years I've explained an RC circuit h'ware & s'ware. It takes a good while for them to understand it. They frequently mess up the hware or sware when trying a project without the explicit drawings in the book.

But I'm starting to get some serious blow-back from kids that have tried an Arduino. They are used to just hooking up a voltage divider straight into an analog port and reading the value.

Is there any solution for BS2 that is as easy? I know there are ADC but then we are into serial comm. I know I could switch to Propeller but for an intro to uCon class I think the BS2 is much easier (they get some VB in middle school but most have not had C yet).

Do I continue teaching RCTIME and live with the Arduino comments or is there an easier BS2 option?

Thanks.

Comments

• SapphireSapphire Posts: 496
    edited 2013-08-08 14:08
    You can make a simple ADC with the BS2 and an op-amp or comparator. The BS2 outputs PWM to a capacitor to develop a voltage, which is compared to an unknown voltage with the op-amp or comparator. The output of the op-amp or comparator is fed back into the BS2 on another pin, and through iteration, you can determine the unknown voltage.

There is an article about this here: http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/vol1/col/nv25.pdf
  • John KauffmanJohn Kauffman Posts: 653
    edited 2013-08-08 14:28
    Thanks Sapphire. Lots of good info in the piece and I appreciate the pointer.