Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Welcome our newest microMedic judge: Forrest M. Mims III — Parallax Forums

Welcome our newest microMedic judge: Forrest M. Mims III

Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,386
edited 2013-05-11 16:24 in Announcements
Hey all,

You read it correctly. We are very fortunate to have somebody we all know as a valuable educator in our electronics experience: Forrest M. Mims III.

www.forrestmims.org

Thank you Forrest for your support in the 2013 National microMedic Contest!

Ken Gracey
Parallax Inc.

Comments

• bjimbestbjimbest Posts: 3
    edited 2013-03-10 08:29
    Wow! Forest Mimms III! I have been a medical devices engineer for over 33 years. My background has been in Reliability Engineering, Systems Verification & Validation, and Test & Measurement Engineering. On the side I have been an enthusiastic amateur medical device designer, reference www.bestsolu.com . I have well over a dozen of Forest's books on my shelf. Whenever I get stumped on a idea or design, I always go back to the basics as described in Forest's books. It will be a great learning experience to take part in this competition and have such an esteemed teacher as our judge.
  • prof_brainoprof_braino Posts: 4,313
    edited 2013-03-10 14:48
    The Mimms books got me started in electronics, with calulating the value for the current limiting resistor for an LED.

Welcome, Mr Mimms!
  • Peter KG6LSEPeter KG6LSE Posts: 1,383
    edited 2013-03-10 18:38
    Forrest is the reason I got in to electronics back in elementary school ....* smiles*
    20 Years later am using his books to tutor and teach my fellow college students ... He is a Icon for the "makers" and DIYers of the 80s and 90s ...

One thing he is known for is the use of LEDs as a RX sensor..... Deja Vu! the optics lab Yesterday was on sensors and the first part was to use a Green LED as a detector.. Tis a small world .......

Peter.
  • borisgborisg Posts: 39
    edited 2013-03-11 01:41