LOVING Spinneret Web Server DEMO v1.2

Thank you for releasing this code. The other demo code was great, but Spinneret Web Server DEMO v1.2 is excellent! Found here - http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?128385-Testing-Spinneret-Web-Server-outside-of-my-home-network

I absolutely love seeing internet traffic on my Spinneret. It's powered from a 12v battery and solar cell. I have yet to see it consume more than 200mA. I've already started converting my entire website and it will soon be running for the world to see. I will include credits where applicable.

Running my website on solar power is obviously not for the contest. Don't worry, I've got some good contest ideas too.

FYI, I'm really good with routing and switching. I learned a lot about the Spinneret using Wireshark. I don't know a lot about ASM though. Before I start hurling ASM questions out there I would like to invite anyone with unsolved network problems to invite me to their thread if I do not see it.

Thanks again.
Signature
Tagged:

Comments

  • 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited January 2011 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down
    xanadu wrote: »
    Spinneret Web Server DEMO v1.2

    Where did you find this demo i would like to try it.
    thanks.
  • edited January 2011 Posts: 2,054Vote Up0Vote Down
    I changed the original post with the location
    Signature
  • agsags
    edited January 2011 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down
    xanadu wrote: »
    I absolutely love seeing internet traffic on my Spinneret...

    FYI, I'm really good with routing and switching. I learned a lot about the Spinneret using Wireshark, and packet sniffer...

    OK, I have two questions that have cropped up while getting my WizNet online:

    1) any thoughts/experience with a situation like this: [URL]http://http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?128729-WizNet-W5100-code-does-not-work-with-some-switches-![/URL] ? I tried crossover and straight cable, and had another machine connected & communicating. Just the WizNet wouldn't talk (through) that particular switch.

    2) I ended up playing around with Wireshark trying to solve problem #1 above. I realized that it only can sniff packets on the segment that the host machine is on. My LAN has all switches, so there are only segments with one host on each. I didn't keep any old hubs, and when I went out to the local Fry's, was told that no one even manufactures hubs any more. How do you get into a segment to see the traffic?

    Thanks,

    Al
  • edited January 2011 Posts: 2,054Vote Up0Vote Down
    ags wrote: »
    OK, I have two questions that have cropped up while getting my WizNet online:

    1) any thoughts/experience with a situation like this: [URL]http://http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?128729-WizNet-W5100-code-does-not-work-with-some-switches-![/URL] ? I tried crossover and straight cable, and had another machine connected & communicating. Just the WizNet wouldn't talk (through) that particular switch.

    2) I ended up playing around with Wireshark trying to solve problem #1 above. I realized that it only can sniff packets on the segment that the host machine is on. My LAN has all switches, so there are only segments with one host on each. I didn't keep any old hubs, and when I went out to the local Fry's, was told that no one even manufactures hubs any more. How do you get into a segment to see the traffic?

    Thanks,

    Al

    On #1- Sounds a lot like MDI-X. The old Linksys switch has an uplink port that is shared with port 4. If you use the uplink port, make sure nothing else is in port 4 (uplink port should be port 5). Did you ever fully resolve the problem or still no go?

    On #2- I use ICS (internet connection sharing) on my laptop for Wireshark. You would use one NIC to plug into your gateway/router/modem/www, and the other the LAN. With internet connection sharing enabled the traffic has to pass between those two adapters.

    I'm not if you know how to setup all that up but if you don't google around you'll get better tutorials, there's probably even videos on youtube.
    Signature
  • edited January 2011 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down
    ags wrote: »
    OK, I have two questions that have cropped up while getting my WizNet online:

    1) any thoughts/experience with a situation like this: [URL]http://http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?128729-WizNet-W5100-code-does-not-work-with-some-switches-![/URL] ? I tried crossover and straight cable, and had another machine connected & communicating. Just the WizNet wouldn't talk (through) that particular switch.

    2) I ended up playing around with Wireshark trying to solve problem #1 above. I realized that it only can sniff packets on the segment that the host machine is on. My LAN has all switches, so there are only segments with one host on each. I didn't keep any old hubs, and when I went out to the local Fry's, was told that no one even manufactures hubs any more. How do you get into a segment to see the traffic?

    Thanks,

    Al

    AFAIK, you can't unless you have a programmable switch that allows a port to be placed in 'promiscuous' mode. Another possibility, if you can flush the arp cache on the switch, via some type of command, possibly by removing power for a few seconds, it will have to send all packets to all ports for a period of time until it can re-learn which machines are on which port.

    -jim-
  • edited April 2011 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down
    How can we get this spinneret to be a web server though a 3G internet connection? I know very little about networks and servers, but I did buy a website, http://solargold.info and I tried to have it forwarded to port 2345 (supposedly the port we are tying to send the data out of). I do not have the 3-g network card and service yet, i am trying to see if I can get it to go though my ATT home internet service first. any recommendations on where to go from here? I also looked into a company that may or may not be a help to me. here is their website, have you ever heard of them? http://www.tzo.com/index.html Thanks
  • edited April 2011 Posts: 2,054Vote Up0Vote Down
    joemac wrote: »
    How can we get this spinneret to be a web server though a 3G internet connection? I know very little about networks and servers, but I did buy a website, http://solargold.info and I tried to have it forwarded to port 2345 (supposedly the port we are tying to send the data out of). I do not have the 3-g network card and service yet, i am trying to see if I can get it to go though my ATT home internet service first. any recommendations on where to go from here? I also looked into a company that may or may not be a help to me. here is their website, have you ever heard of them? http://www.tzo.com/index.html Thanks

    There are a few ways to do 3G. Do the least you have to for testing. If you have someone with a 3G phone tether it to a laptop and use internet connection sharing on the laptop. The configuration is easy so long as you take it one step at a time.

    If you buy a domain you forward it to an IP. Then you append the port to the hostname. http://solargold.info:2345 would be what it would look like. You need to forward that domain to your 3G IP. if your 3G IP is dynamic it will never work because the DNS servers take time to update, meanwhile your 3G IP changes.

    This is why you use a company like TZO. So you're on the right track. Just remember TZO service requires and updater on your local network to work. So you'd have your 3G connection and then the updater on either a router or computer along with your Spinneret.

    You can forward your solargold.info to your TZO address once it's setup.

    EDIT: I use dyndns.com for dynamic hostnames, they're great!
    Signature
  • edited April 2011 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down
    Hello, I am looking into the spinnernet webserver for a project. My concern is if one can strore their webpage on the SD card. 32k is very small for a webpage.
  • edited April 2011 Posts: 0Vote Up0Vote Down
    Yes, the Spinneret can serve pages from the SD card.
    Any fool can make something complicated. It takes a genius to make it simple. Woody Guthrie
Sign In or Register to comment.