Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
AM and FM Transmitters - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

AM and FM Transmitters

Comments

• purplemonkeypurplemonkey Posts: 89
    edited 2012-07-31 08:42
    do you just use the setup pictured in the datasheet with power going to one side of crystal and ground to other side?
    edited 2012-07-31 09:20
    Also does aerial wire need to be grounded?
  • Dave HeinDave Hein Posts: 6,347
    edited 2012-07-31 10:20
    Yes, I just used the standard configuration in the datasheet. The aerial depends on the frequency and your application. I have very little experience with radio transmission, so I can't give you very detailed answers. I would say that the signal generated by the Prop is not very clean, and you would be better off using an external RF module.
    edited 2012-08-01 03:11
    Thanks, just to clarify with a wire as aerial coming from pin 1 should I use a capacitor & resistor before ground or literally just plug the next hole on my breadboard to ground?
    edited 2012-08-01 10:11
    What frequency does it broadcast on as I seem to get nothing on radio?
    edited 2012-08-01 12:31
    purplemonkey, which program are you running? The AM program transmits at 1.42 MHz and the FM program transmits at 92.5 MHz. The signal is so noisy that you should be able to pick it up on lots of different frequencies on either the AM or FM band.
    edited 2012-08-01 14:03