Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
HPS? — Parallax Forums

HPS?

nisbusnisbus Posts: 46
edited 2009-03-28 04:25 in Accessories
Hi,

I'm new to this sensor scene and I am wondering if I could use the Parallax GPS module with my own transmitters (i.e. from within my home instead of from space )

I'm looking to build a Home Positioning System that has the accuracy of millimeters. Is this something that is possible?

If not the GPS module, then could I use ultrasound ?
What is the range of ultrasonic sensors/transmitters?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks,
nisbus

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-03-11 00:30
    I pretty sure that you can't use the GPS system, if for no other reason than it's probably illegal to generate your own signals. They are used for high risk navigation, after all. Plus, it would be incredibly difficult (near impossible?) to measure the propagation time of an RF signal in a house to within mm.

Ultrasound wouldn't work well because it would bounce off the walls quite easily, leading to bad readings.

Your best bet would be to use IR beacons and triangulate your position, rather than measure flight time.
  • nisbusnisbus Posts: 46
    edited 2009-03-12 21:40
    Thanks for your insight.

Do you know of any suitable hardware for creating IR beacons?

I would need to be able to track 10 objects in real time so I guess I would be needing 30 beacons all sending out different frequencies?

Thanks again,
    nisbus
    edited 2009-03-12 23:14
    What I would do is have each beacon in turn do the following:

1) transmit beacon number via RF
    2) transmit 'start' via RF
    3) swing a IR LED around 360 at constant speed.