Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PropViewer - Propeller Serial Terminal Version 2.2 - Page 3 — Parallax Forums

PropViewer - Propeller Serial Terminal Version 2.2

13»

Comments

  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2008-09-19 14:11
    Got a debugging idea, (which would be very handy for my current project)

    How about the ability to detect a (changeable) certain ASCII code and when it
    is found, it displays the CODE (number) itself (in a settable color)

    This would be handy for those working with SD code, as we could output the
    contents of a file in ASCII text, and still look for specific control codes.

    It would also be handing for those working with FullDuplex as a display
    driver with the Prop, and want to slip in a simple .out(#) somewhere to
    see where things are happening without disrupting the display.

    Too weird or good idea? You decide.. [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    OBC

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

    Getting started with a Propeller Protoboard?
    Check out: Introduction to the Proboard & Propeller Cookbook 1.4
    Updates to the Cookbook are now posted to: Propeller.warrantyvoid.us
    Got an SD card connected? - PropDOS
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-19 15:12
    PropViewer 2.2 under Mono and MacOS produces:

    MacPleasant42:~ mgreen$ mono /Applications/MonoApps/PropViewer.exe

    Unhandled Exception: System.TypeInitializationException: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for y ---> System.NotImplementedException: The requested feature is not implemented.
    at Microsoft.Win32.RegistryKey.OpenSubKey (System.String name, RegistryKeyPermissionCheck permissionCheck) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) Microsoft.Win32.RegistryKey:OpenSubKey (string,Microsoft.Win32.RegistryKeyPermissionCheck)
    at j..ctor () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at y..cctor () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000] --- End of inner exception stack trace ---

    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad (System.EventArgs e) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoadInternal (System.EventArgs e) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnCreateControl () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow (System.Windows.Forms.Message& m) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc (System.Windows.Forms.Message& m) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc (System.Windows.Forms.Message& m) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl.WndProc (System.Windows.Forms.Message& m) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc (System.Windows.Forms.Message& m) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control+ControlWindowTarget.OnMessage (System.Windows.Forms.Message& m) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control+ControlNativeWindow.WndProc (System.Windows.Forms.Message& m) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.WndProc (IntPtr hWnd, Msg msg, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.XplatUICarbon.SendMessage (IntPtr hwnd, Msg message, IntPtr wParam, IntPtr lParam) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.XplatUICarbon.CreateWindow (System.Windows.Forms.CreateParams cp) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.XplatUI.CreateWindow (System.Windows.Forms.CreateParams cp) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.CreateHandle (System.Windows.Forms.CreateParams create_params) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateHandle () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.CreateHandle () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.SetVisibleCore (Boolean value) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.SetVisibleCore (Boolean value) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.set_Visible (Boolean value) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.Windows.Forms.Control:set_Visible (bool)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.RunLoop (Boolean Modal, System.Windows.Forms.ApplicationContext context) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run (System.Windows.Forms.ApplicationContext context) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run (System.Windows.Forms.Form mainForm) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.WindowsFormsApplicationBase.OnRun () [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.WindowsFormsApplicationBase.Run (System.String[noparse]/noparse commandLine) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]
    at ac.a (System.String[noparse]/noparse A_0) [noparse][[/noparse]0x00000]

    Once you try to take advantage of Windows features, it'll break under other operating systems.
  • PraxisPraxis Posts: 333
    edited 2008-09-19 15:26
    @Mike Green: Yep that's the problem alright, all the program settings are save to windows registry and that's what is causing the exception.
    A quick fix would be to trap the error but lose settings saving the ideal fix is to write the programs settings to an INI type of file.
    I will have a look at it later.

    Cheers
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-09-19 15:38
    One solution would be to have a command line option to skip the registry stuff.
  • PraxisPraxis Posts: 333
    edited 2008-09-19 19:26
    @Mike Green: The only problem with that is the settings (comport etc) would not be saved between sessions.
    Never mind I have upload a new binary that uses a xml config file for the settings, give it a try and let me know.

    Cheers
  • PraxisPraxis Posts: 333
    edited 2008-09-22 07:30
    Oldbitcollector said...

    I was sure that I had already installed DotNet when in fact I hadn't.
    Suggestion: a graceful exit if DotNet isn't found?

    This is a catch22 problem for the program to detect the framework it must be able to run and if no framework it can't run.

    I will update the installation file to detect if the framework is installed or not.

    Cheers.
  • PraxisPraxis Posts: 333
    edited 2008-09-22 15:39
    Has anyone tried the programs on non windows platforms since that latest builds were posted?

    Thanks in advance.


    Note To Paul Baker: You mentioned that there was going to be a place for completed applications, what is the progress with that?
Sign In or Register to comment.